Carrot Top Pesto

DSCN0417 - Edited
I had heard of carrot top pesto and loved the idea of using what would otherwise be wasted. Would it be bitter? I harvested a few carrots from my garden. (I was tempted to hedge my bets by doing 1/2 carrot top, 1/2 basil . . . and then decided to be brave and go all the way!) I used toasted walnuts instead of pine nuts and pureed in my blender. It’s delicious and I think I actually prefer it to basil pesto.

Carrot Top Pesto

    Can be served as a dip with crackers and/or crudites or on top of bruschetta that has been smeared with fresh goat cheese . . . or any other way one uses traditional pesto. Great on pasta. (Makes about 2/3 cup)

    1 cup lightly packed carrot leaves (stems removed)

    5-6 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil

    1 large garlic clove

    1/4 teaspoon kosher or fine sea salt

    3 tablespoons pine nuts or walnuts, toasted

    1/4 cup freshly grated Parmesan cheese, preferably Parmigiano-Reggiano

    Puree it all in a blender or food processor.

    DSCN0419 - Edited

    (http://www.npr.org/2013/03/07/173722085/finding-flavor-in-the-castoff-carrot-top)

This entry was posted in Bright Ideas, recipe and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

